Read the study in PDF Read the article of the study

 

78% cost reduction related to the raw material used

 

Expanded polypropylene blocks were the ideal solution for this company wanting to manufacture soundproof boards with high strength and resilience.

CUSTOMER’S CHALLENGE

A major player in the construction industry wanted to optimize an existing product. He was looking for a material that would allow him to design boards with sound absorption properties, high impact resistance and good resilience. Cork met these criteria, but the price was too high. Since the product is used in multi-story buildings, the solution had to be efficient and affordable.

POLYFORM’S SOLUTION

In order to meet the demands of this customer, Polyform had an effective solution: expanded polypropylene (EPP) blocks. This material meets all the necessary standards. Indeed, it is recognized for its high resistance to shocks and it’s effective to absorb sounds. EPP can be cut to very thin thicknesses. The final product is lightweight and offers an excellent insulation performance, which is essential in the construction industry!

RESULTS

Our team developed the right block cutting process to eliminate an intermediate. Consequently, the costs and production time for this customer, who had made several attempts with other suppliers, have been reduced. By switching to EPP, this customer now saves 78% of its costs related to the raw material used, making the product available at a much more advantageous price!

 

Download this case study

Lire l'étude en PDF Lire l'article de l'étude

 

« Réduction de 78% des coûts uniquement reliés à la matière première utilisée »

 

Les blocs de polypropylène expansé étaient la solution idéale pour ce client qui désirait découper des panneaux insonorisant ayant une grande résistance et une bonne résilience.

LE DÉFI DU CLIENT

Un grand joueur dans l’industrie de la construction désirait optimiser un produit déjà existant. Il était à la recherche d’une matière qui allait lui permettre de concevoir des panneaux ayant des propriétés d’absorption du son, une grande résistance aux chocs et possédant une bonne résilience. Le liège répondait à ces critères, mais le prix était trop élevé. Comme le produit sert à être appliqué dans des immeubles multi-étages, il devait être performant et être offert à un coût raisonnable.

LA SOLUTION DE POLYFORM

Afin de satisfaire les demandes de ce client, Polyform a proposé une solution efficace : les blocs de polypropylène expansé (PPE). Cette matière satisfait tous les critères nécessaires. Effectivement, elle est reconnue pour sa grande résistance aux chocs, est résiliente et permet d’absorber le son. En plus de ses caractéristiques, le PPE peut être découpé à des épaisseurs très minces, il est léger et il offre une excellente performance énergétique. Des indispensables dans l’industrie de la construction!

LES RÉSULTATS

Notre équipe est parvenue à élaborer le bon procédé de découpe des blocs qui a permis d’éliminer un intermédiaire. Par le fait même, les coûts et les délais de ce client, qui avait fait plusieurs tentatives auprès d’autres fournisseurs, ont été réduits. Nous avons d’ailleurs réussi à réduire de 78% les coûts reliés uniquement à la matière utilisée. Il obtient donc un produit plus performant à un prix beaucoup plus avantageux!

 

Télécharger cette étude