Read the study in PDF Read the article of the study

 

Reducing costs and simplifying the assembly process

 

The expanded polystyrene (EPS) part designed for Candock ensures perfect floatation and allows the end customer to fully enjoy his aquatic sport.

CUSTOMER’S CHALLENGE

Candock wanted to put on the market a product with perfect floatation, even if the water seeps into the system one day. The product, a floating dock, had to be custom moulded and strong enough to withstand heavy loads. It would have to withstand the weight of many types of boats and people walking around. In addition, this system is recognized for the low-maintenance of water vehicles. We had to suggest a durable solution that would respect the environment.

POLYFORM’S SOLUTION

The 114 inch long product was filled with expanded polystyrene (EPS), a material known for its low water absorption. EPS makes this product robust and lightweight at the same time. Its high degree of buoyancy is unaffected by the weight of water vehicles or people. This ecological material is 98% air, contains no chemicals, is mould resistant and 100% recyclable. Product assembly was also supported by Polyform to eliminate an intermediate in the manufacturing process.

RESULTS

We came up with a part with an irreproachable floatation. The Jetslide remains stable on the water. It supports a large load without sinking. Vehicles that go on it do not touch the water, which reduces maintenance. The costs are reduced by the simplified assembly process and the elimination of the intermediate. The customer receives a product ready to be sold on the market.

 

Download this case study

Lire l'étude en PDF Lire l'article de l'étude

 

Réduction des coûts et simplification du processus d’assemblage

 

La pièce de polystyrène expansé (PSE) conçu pour Candock assure une flottaison parfaite et permet au consommateur final de profiter pleinement de son sport aquatique.

LE DÉFI DU CLIENT

Candock désirait une pièce ayant une flottaison parfaite, et ce, même si l’eau arrivait un jour à s’infiltrer à l’intérieur du système. Le produit devait donc être moulé sur mesure et assez résistant pour supporter des charges importantes. Le quai flottant allait devoir résister au poids de plusieurs types d’embarcations et des gens qui s’y promènent. De plus, ce système est reconnu pour ne pas nécessiter d’entretien, nous devions alors proposer une solution durable. Le produit se trouvant dans les eaux devait respecter l’environnement.

LA SOLUTION DE POLYFORM

Le produit de 114 pouces de long a été rempli de polystyrène expansé (PSE), une matière connue pour sa faible absorption d’eau. Le PSE rend ce produit robuste et léger à la fois. Son grand degré de flottabilité n’est pas affecté par le poids de véhicules aquatiques ou de personnes. Cette matière écologique est composée à 98% d’air, ne contient aucun produit chimique, est résistante à la moisissure et est 100% recyclable. L’assemblage du produit a aussi été pris en charge par Polyform afin d’éliminer un intermédiaire dans le processus de fabrication.

LES RÉSULTATS

Nous avons obtenu une pièce dont la flottaison est irréprochable. Le Jetslide reste stable sur l’eau. Il supporte une charge importante sans couler. Les véhicules qui y montent ne touchent pas à l’eau, ce qui diminue l’entretien. Les coûts sont réduits par le processus simplifié d’assemblage et le retrait d’un intermédiaire. Le client reçoit ainsi un produit prêt à être vendu sur le marché.

 

Télécharger cette étude