Read the study in PDF Read the article of the study

 

Better insulation and lighter trailers

 

The development of insulation boards designed with metal inserts made it possible to build a stronger and more insulated trailer.

CUSTOMER’S CHALLENGE

This manufacturer wanted to design stronger trailers and caravans. He wanted people to be able to use it without damaging it during activities such as hunting, where sturdiness is necessary. In addition to the strength, the occupants needed to be comfortable inside. To provide that, we had to provide a very good insulation solution.

POLYFORM’S SOLUTION

We have developed a custom 4 feet x 8 feet insulation board. It is laminated with fiberglass and lauan. Our team reinforced it by placing 4 steel inserts according to pressure points. The inserts are moulded in expanded polystyrene (EPS), which improves the structure and helps support the roof. In order for the inserts to stay in place, we made holes in the metal inserts to allow the EPS to merge better. This insulation board is shiplapped, which also ensures better insulation.

RESULTS

Our concept prevents any material damage. It is convenient for groups such as fishermen and hunters as they can sit on the roof of their trailer or caravan, and even use it in extreme contexts. Polyform made it possible to increase the R value by more than R-5. By filling the walls, we also reduced the weight; another added value!

 

Download this case study

Lire l'étude en PDF Lire l'article de l'étude

 

« Augmentation de l’isolation et diminution du poids de la remorque »

 

Le développement d’un panneau isolant ayant des insertions de métal a permis de concevoir une remorque plus solide et mieux isolée.

LE DÉFI DU CLIENT

Ce fabricant québécois désirait concevoir des remorques et des caravanes plus solides. Il voulait que les gens puissent l’utiliser sans l’abîmer lors des activités où la robustesse est nécessaire comme pour la chasse. En plus de la solidité, le client voulait que les occupants soient confortables à l’intérieur, il fallait donc une bonne isolation.

LA SOLUTION DE POLYFORM

Nous avons développé un panneau isolant de 4 pieds x 8 pieds rigide. Il est laminé d’une fibre de verre et de lauan. Notre équipe l’a renforcé en disposant 4 insertions d’acier selon les points de pression. Les insertions sont moulées dans le polystyrène expansé (PSE) améliorant la structure pour permettre de soutenir le toit et de visser des objets. Afin que les insertions restent en place, nous avons élaboré une stratégie consistant à faire des trous dans les insertions de métal pour permettre au PSE de fusionner. Ce panneau isolant est chevauché, ce qui assure aussi une meilleure isolation.

LES RÉSULTATS

La composition développée permet d’éviter tout bris de matériel. C’est une commodité pour des groupes comme les pêcheurs et les chasseurs puisqu’ils peuvent, exceptionnellement, s’asseoir sur le toit ou l’utiliser dans des contextes extrêmes. Polyform a permis d’augmenter le facteur R de plus de R-5. En remplissant les murs, nous avons aussi diminué le poids; une autre valeur ajoutée!

 

Télécharger cette étude