Read the study in PDF Read the article of the study

 

Increase of the product life and better visibility of a tourist attraction.

 

The city of Granby needed a physical element to promote its tourism. The municipality also wanted to work hand in hand with a local sculptor.

CUSTOMER’S CHALLENGE

The municipality of Granby was on the hunt for an easy-to-carve material, but it had to be offered in very large dimensions. The goal was to create an interest for its main tourist attraction, the Granby Zoo. It had to be resistant since the sculptures are exposed outside and subjected to climatic conditions.

POLYFORM’S SOLUTION

Polyform offered to provide large expanded polystyrene blocks (EPS). These are 16 feet tall blocks! EPS is tough and strong, but flexible enough to be sculpted. It is a material resistant to water and moisture. In addition, its lifetime can be extended when covered with a coating or when laminated.

RESULTS

These impressive and flamboyantly colored sculptures, located in key locations, attract tourists and citizens’ attention. Many want to take a picture with these big foam animals. Even the medias shared their arrival in a story. This had a considerable economic impact for the municipality and for the tourist site.

 

Download this case study

Lire l'étude en PDF Lire l'article de l'étude

 

Augmentation de la durée de vie d’un produit et meilleure visibilité d’un attrait touristique.

 

La ville de Granby avait besoin d’un élément physique lui permettant de promouvoir un attrait touristique de la ville. La municipalité désirait aussi avoir recours à un artiste sculpteur local.

LE DÉFI DU CLIENT

La municipalité de Granby recherchait une matière facile à sculpter, mais qui peut être offerte en très grande dimension afin de créer un intérêt pour son principal attrait touristique, le Zoo de Granby. Elle devait être résistante puisque les sculptures sont exposées à l’extérieur et soumises aux conditions climatiques.

LA SOLUTION DE POLYFORM

Les blocs de grandes dimensions en polystyrène expansé (PSE) ont été proposés au client. Il s’agit de blocs mesurant 16 pieds de haut. Le PSE est suffisamment dur et solide, mais assez souple pour pouvoir être sculpté. C’est une matière résistante à l’eau et à l’humidité. De plus, sa durée de vie peut être prolongée lorsqu’elle est recouverte d’un enduit ou encore laminée.

LES RÉSULTATS

Ces sculptures impressionnantes et aux couleurs flamboyantes, positionnées à des endroits clés de la ville, attirent l’attention des touristes et des citoyens. Plusieurs désirent les prendre en photo et les médias ont partagé leur arrivée. Cela a eu un impact économique considérable pour la municipalité et pour le lieu touristique.

 

Télécharger cette étude